This grips me more than would a muddy old river or reclining Buddha

My wife, who is very hip and who encouraged me to start this blog to improve my own HQ (Hipness Quotient), looked at my tagline here and said, “Do you think anyone under 50 will know Yul Brynner?”  A reasonable question to ask about someone who’s been dead for almost 25 years.  And a reasonable question to ask if your image of someone is stuck in the ’50s.  But no, my reference to Yul Brynner is way hipper than that.  It’s from the ’80s.  (From Frank Rich‘s review of the musical from which my tagline comes:  “For over three hours, the characters yell at one another to rock music.”)

I don't see you guys rating the kind of mate I'm contemplating...wait, wrong play

I don't see you guys rating the kind of mate I'm contemplating...wait, wrong play

Okay, maybe I am skewing old here.  But no apologies for that.

Thanks to my wife, I now know that Yul did not spell his last name “Brenner.”  I didn’t realize that until I went Googling to find a link for this post and discovered it was actually “Brynner” (which makes sense as a transliteration from Бринер, his name in his native Russia…one might instead use “Brinner,” but “Brenner” would’t have made the cut..wouldn’t “Breenyer” be more accurate?).

Okay everybody…back to your bars, your temples…your massage parlors…

Leave a Reply

